Acropora and Wavemakers

Discussion in 'SPS Corals' started by JackSplat, 5 Oct 2013.

  1. JackSplat

    JackSplat

    Joined:
    3 May 2013
    Posts:
    558
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Hi guys

    I have done some reading on Acropora and many sites recommend that you have a wavemaker to generate intermittent flow for them. I have two seio 1000 powerheads which is running all the time (except for feeding) in a 700x700 cube as well as a ~2000 l/h return.

    My question being, do I really need a wavemaker to keep these corals?

    Thank you!
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
  4. Bendor

    Bendor

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Pietermaritzburg
    Cheapest way to get gyre flow is to point the two pumps towards each other from the back corners. Switch one on to get a circular flow going and then alternate them each night after feeding so only one is going at any given time. 24hrs is a really long pulse but in frag tanks you can run just one pump and turn the frag once every few days so it should be fine. It's not about alternating flow it's about getting strong unidirectional flow that becomes very random at the corals surface as it hits the coral. Controller changing over every hour may be better but I don't think so. Thumb suck.
     
  5. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    [​IMG]
     
  6. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    Hahahaha you took the words right out of my mouth @butcherman.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  7. JackSplat

    JackSplat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 May 2013
    Posts:
    558
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Pretoria
    That is a great idea, thank you!


    Mmm, I think I have enough flow, churning the tank over about 40 times / hour atm :tt2:
     
  8. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    I have 60 times.. and sometimes I still feel like it isnt enough
     
  9. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Excluding return pump, I'm on just over 75... And acros are more than happy
     
  10. SApicoreef

    SApicoreef

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Durban
    I'm at about 80 times over with return and also feel like I need another mp10.
     
  11. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    looks like you can never have to much flow....
     
  12. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    while we are on the topic of flow...
    why is it important?
    well its used for respiration, nutrient waste export, and food :)

    some say its more important than light ;)
     
  13. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    It is not the amount of flow it is the quality of the flow.
     
  14. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
  15. JackSplat

    JackSplat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 May 2013
    Posts:
    558
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Thank you for all the feedback. I added another power-head and I have about x 53 now. Did some CFD simulations as well and the flow is looking good! Except for the flow in the powerhead nozzles, the velocities are from 0.1 to 0.3 m/s.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 14 Oct 2013
  16. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Bracken
    Someone mention flow?!
    Add a csd!!!
    Kinda takes care of quantity and quality ;)
     
  17. Andre@ReefAquatics

    Andre@ReefAquatics Sponsor

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    2,655
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Durbanville
    irie ivan ? Who is this guy ???
     
  18. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    Sps guru in absentia
     
  19. JacoD01

    JacoD01

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Johannesburg / Brits
  20. NO3

    NO3

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2013
    Posts:
    592
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Durban,Hillcrest
    Cluch And break specialist:thumbup::thumbup::thumbup::thumbup::thumbup:
     
  21. JacoD01

    JacoD01

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Johannesburg / Brits
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Acropora Wavemakers Forum Date
Algae on white part of acropora SPS Corals 13 Sep 2016
Acropora frag - okay? SPS Corals 30 Mar 2016
Acropora Suharsonoi help SPS Corals 13 Mar 2016
[wtd] Tabling Acropora Wanted 6 Aug 2015
Urgent help needed Acropora unidentified tiny crab! Urgent Help Needed 30 May 2015
Colouring Acropora SPS Corals 4 May 2014
Coral crab survive on dead/dying acropora? General Discussions and Advice 12 Dec 2013