A strange refractometer request

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Tony, 13 Sep 2011.

1. Tony

Tony

Hi Hennie. I have a strange request. Can a salt refractometer be calibrated to read sugar concentration using a known sugar solution to calibrate it. Here's why!

Being a chef by profession we use refractometers to make ice cream by measuring the amount of sugar in the mixture which will tell us if the ice cream will freeze to hard or too soft. One can buy sugar refractometers but they are double the price of salt meters. So, I would like to buy a salt meter and calibrate it to read sugar. Can this be done, and if so, how? I know it's not marine related but I would appreciate your help where possible

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Nemos Janitor

Nemos Janitor

4. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

I have one.

Its to measure the sugar level in my home brew beer :thumbup:
    ( If it was to sweet, you get heartburn easily. )

Well that was during my varsity years. Bring back very happy times. Damn heaviest brew I made was at 12% alcohol. It kicked your butt.

5. Tony

Tony Thread Starter

Keith one reads sugar in Brix. A standard ice cream refractometer reads from 0-32 Brix. A salt refractometer goes over that level but the ideal reading for ice cream is 28-30 Brix. Ill check out the articles and see if I can get any info off them but I need to get a known sugar solution for calibration

6. Nemos Janitor

Nemos Janitor

Yes Tony the different sugar refractometers are shown in the last link. What i meant was, do you know if there is a relationship between Brix and SG?

7. Nemos Janitor

Nemos Janitor

Last edited: 13 Sep 2011
  8. Tony

Tony Thread Starter

Hi Keith. Thanks for the link. Here are reading from the web site when typing in my sugar readings. I dont think our refractometers go as high as as the SG readings shown.

Homebrew Refractometer Calculations / Calculators

Brix <=> Specific Gravity
    Specific GravityBrix/Plato1.