A few questions

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Keanan, 9 Dec 2010.

1. Keanan

Keanan 2time

Hi again guys

1st. I was told to use acetone to clean the excess silicone and marks from my tank, what I would like to know is can I give my whole tank a rub down with it or should I avoid the siliconed areas? And should I dilute it or use it as is?

2nd. I need help on the plumping. Could someone please tell me what all I will need for the plumbing and what the layout should look like. Pics would also help a lot.
    Below is a pic done in paint, yes paint, I'm not too clued up on sketch up so please don't hang me for using paint.:whistling:

As you can see the sump is not directly bellow the DT because of there are partitions in the stand.

[​IMG]

Thanks.:peroni:

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. lv

lv

Hi 2time

I am no pro but maybe I can help
    a bit.

st. I was told to use acetone to clean the excess silicone and marks from my tank, what I would like to know is can I give my whole tank a rub down with it or should I avoid the siliconed areas? And should I dilute it or use it as is?

I used acetone to clean my tank and it worked fine, try not to wet the siliconed areas excesively and you will be fine. Also remember to wash the tank properly before use. I don't think acetone can be diluted, but I have mix dishing liquid with it before. I wash it down with a hosepipe afterwards and it will help the remove the residue that the acetone left behind after use. It worked pretty well for me.

2nd. I need help on the plumping. Could someone please tell me what all I will need for the plumbing and what the layout should look like. Pics would also help a lot.
    Below is a pic done in paint, yes paint, I'm not too clued up on sketch up so please don't hang me for using paint.