600 x 600 x 500 Cubeish

Discussion in 'Medium Tanks' started by cclarity, 13 Apr 2012.

  1. cclarity

    cclarity

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    199
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northwold, RSA
    I so pose it is about time I shared this. It would not have been possible with out Nathan from TSR as I'm very much a noob. The tank is one of TSRs standard 600 cubes with a skinny overflow and return. The sump is also a standard sump built for using Zeo on this cube. It has a auto water change compartment as this has always been a pain in the ass.
    [​IMG]
    Front Shot.
    [​IMG]
    LHS.
    [​IMG]
    RHS.
    [​IMG]
    FTS.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. cclarity

    cclarity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    199
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northwold, RSA
    The engine room is as follows;
    [​IMG]
    The first compartment is a auto water change compartment. When I have to do a water change all I do is swivel the 500mm overflow pipe to the second compartment, pump out the water (about 15l) and refill with RO from my 250l top up, through in the salt mix, wait for 10 mins. ant swivel the overflow pipe back. I run a JNS Zeo reactor and a JNS carbon reactor as well as a JNS skimmer.
    Shaunnorth just arrived so will carry on later.
     
  4. Annoying

    Annoying

    Joined:
    14 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Amazing liooking tank:thumbup:

    Is your CBB eating prepared foods?
     
  5. cclarity

    cclarity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    199
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northwold, RSA
    Yes, Brine and Mysis
     
  6. cclarity

    cclarity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    199
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northwold, RSA
    All my electronics are hosed remotely in a purpose built enclosure which serves as a viewing seat. All the pumps are on a back up which runs for longer that 24hrs. (Only tested this long.[​IMG]
    I am also dosing Mg ,Ca/Sr and a buffer. The temp. is controlled by a processor.
     
  7. cclarity

    cclarity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    199
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northwold, RSA
    I have a problem with Bryopsys. (sorry about the spelling) I have had my Mg above 1600 for 2 weeks now and it is still there. Please help!
     
  8. cclarity

    cclarity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    199
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northwold, RSA
    bump:whistling:
     
  9. ziyaadb

    ziyaadb

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    5,566
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    JHB-Lenzz
    manually pull out as much as you can and keep the Mg that high for as long as you have it, 2 weeks is a short time in this hobby once you past a few months then its an issue
     
  10. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    You can go higher than 1600. 1800 is fine . You can keep it at this level for months. But manually reove as much as you can.
     
  11. belindamotion

    belindamotion Google Master

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    4,803
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Pinetown,South Africa(KZN)
  12. cclarity

    cclarity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    199
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northwold, RSA
    Thanks Guys, I test kit only measures up to 1600 so I'm not sure what level it is at.
    In other words you are saying that I should carry on as I have been but have more patience. It would seem that only bad things happen fast in this hobby.
     
  13. cclarity

    cclarity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    199
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Northwold, RSA
    Interesting read, thanks Belindamotion.
     
Recent Posts