What Anemone Is This

Reaction score
Hi all

Does anyone know what anemone this is and what I should feed it

Thanks

64004fdb5783825fe.jpg

Are you referring to the pic above? cant make out. Could post a better pic to get a proper I.D

Last edited:
From that pic it looks like a magnifica thats not in too great a shape, can you get us a better pic.

Sorry guys, still getting the hang of this, ok uploaded new pic

64004fdb68eae13d8.jpg

Last edited:
Could be a very bleached magnifica..? Not sure from the picture but is the mouth open..?
Feeding Anemones - Marine Aquariums of South Africa

The mouth is in the center of the oral disc. It should be closed and tight, and will open when hungry, having an oval look. A gaping mouth is a warning signal.
Magnificent Sea Anemone, Ritteri Anemone, Sea Anemone Facts and Sea Anemone Pictures of Heteractis magnifica

Cover powerheads - karensroseanemones.net
A Beginner's Guide to Keeping Anemones - Anemones

I'm no nennie expert, but yours is in bad shape! Any members close to you that can visit? Don't move him! Give him as much light as possible! Try and feed him tiny pieces of hake or calamari! Best of luck!!!

Where should I place the food? In the middle near its mouth...

Just place a piece of chopped hake , mussel , calamari etc (obviously uncooked) near the mouth ...it will pull the food in. Dont increase light right away as I have seen these guys go into stress.

It has already lost a lot of zooxanthellae , so feeding is best bet to let it build up strength

Thanks everyone for all the info and help, I shall keep you all posted on my progress...

Yip as Frans said, feed him very small pieces, and dont increase the light as it has already lost a lot of zooxanthellae and that would just stress it out more, it needs to be acclimatised slowly to stronger light.

Morning All