Totally new

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I have just joined this amazing site in the hope I might get some help as an absolute beginner. My boyfriend knows much about tropical aquariums but would like to start his own marine tank. He wants to start obviously by gaining as much information as he can about them so I thought I would buy him a book on it but I can't find any. I live in Cape Town, can anyone please recommend where I might go to find books on this subject? I am looking forward to joining you all soon, thanks! Laura C.

Hi Laura

Welcome to MASA. :)

Books is a great first step. Part one of what we always say, "research, research, research". I'm having trouble thinking of a good book for beginners though that covers enough info to be useful. I haven't seen many reef aquarium related books in CT so I would suggest you look at loot.co.za and kalahari.net for books. I have recently ordered "The Reef Aquarium Volume Three: Science, Art, and Technology" from kalahari. That might be a bit out of your budget, not sure... The price there is pretty good though, usually it's closer to R800 :( (but it's that good so I hear)

Hello everyone,
I have just joined this amazing site in the hope I might get some help as an absolute beginner. My boyfriend knows much about tropical aquariums but would like to start his own marine tank. He wants to start obviously by gaining as much information as he can about them so I thought I would buy him a book on it but I can't find any. I live in Cape Town, can anyone please recommend where I might go to find books on this subject? I am looking forward to joining you all soon, thanks! Laura C.

Welcome to what can be a very rewarding hobby.

My recommendation:

Try get hold of The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert Fenner. I ordered mine through Exclusive Books for around R320. Nice all round introduction.