Sammy's nano boyu new tank

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie, please give me all your input into where i'm going ?

As a 4 day old newbie i would like to highlight my mistaskes made aleady :

Very upseset with LFS for seeling me my LR without even staring cyycling my water ??

1) Too in a hurry and not cleaned cleaned my substrate, its the tidal marine sand?? ??? Could'nt wait to get mey tank gonig??

2) not wanting to add NSW and taking my LFS's advice of using tap water and adding INSTANT OCEAN ?? as its cycling now, should i start over or just let it run and change it slowly with NSW???

3) tank now cycling for the past 4 days, contemplating starting over with NSW ??

What do I do ?

Below find some pics, please please help ?

welcome, you came to the right place.

firstly never ever use tap water!
use ro water mixed with instant ocean.

Some guys use NSW, but they get it at some place there in CPT(don't know where)

cycling takes about four weeks, buy some testkits, nh3, no2,no3,ph and test 2 times a week for 4 weeks until amonia and nitrites is o, nitrates needs to be 0 but you will be fine if you can keep it below 40ppm.

can't see the pic's?

The first pics
867483c80a8d53e2.jpg

All water chemicals seem to be well within check, ammonia quite high but i guess that is to be expected with the age of the tank ???

nice looking tank!

matt will help you upgrade this baby in no time(pimp my nano:))

for know start using ro/di water, your LFS should sell it to you or ask one the guys on forum to help you with water.
best to wait for the advise from the cpt dudes to tell you what to do with the NSW

Good luck

oja one more powerhead will do the trick and some more LR,contact obi-wan,he sells some really good LR

please give me more details about obi-wan ? BTW do you think my powerhead is in the correct position ?

Hey Sammy.

Welcome from one newbie to another.

You can get NSW from the marine biology aquarium in Sea Point free of charge.