open source DIY controller

Reaction score
Hey Guys.

I have been inspired by NSteyn's link on the DIY controller to start a project for a DIY controller. At first I'd like to start with a basic reading/reporting controller:

1. temp
2. pH
3. Saliinity

I think this can be done pretty cheaply and could be a lot of fun. I am a programmer by profession so I am happy to work on it with others on the forum. I have experience programming PIC micros and LCDs (built a tachometer for my RC helicopter).

p.s. just as an indicator of pricing. A pretty decent pic micro will set you back R30, a 16X2 LCD about R60, LM35 temp sensor about R20. So as a start thats a digital Temp display for just over R100 - then you can add circuits for pH, salinity, etc. of course here you would only pay incremental components as the micro and LCD will stay the same for all the additions.

Any ideas, other parties interested?

Cheers
Jason

Last edited:
Hi Jason,

I'm a programmer in the Linux world.
I'm very interested in your project.

I can help with a web front and database design.
Please keep me in the loop: lean[dot]cornelius[at]gmail[dot]com

Cheers,
Lean

Awesome guys! lets start and see how it goes. Initially I am going to start building the temp sensor part. I want to be able to control an output line based on the temp. I dont have a chiller on my 1000L but I do have a nice big scrubber. I am hoping to add some fans in the next couple of days but I only want the fans to run if/when the temperature breaks a certain threshold. I will most likely use PIC micros as I have used them before and I have a PIC programmer. I will put circuit diagrams and code here:

http://code.google.com/p/aquacontroller/

If anyone would also like to work on the project - just mail me and I can give you access to the code.

p.s. dont expect any timelines/deadlines as I do work, have 2 wife and 2 kids, and maintain a fish tank and koi poind (ouch)

cheers
Jason