Newly hooked on saltwater

Papitto

PatrickF
Reaction score
Ola! :thumbup:
I have just registered on the forum and I'm reading a lot that is exciting. I might be a reff junkie at heart but I want to start slow.
I already have a 2 year old Cichlid tank, but after watching a doccie about the Pacific marine biologists recently, I had to get a piece of that in my home.
I love my cichlids, but I'm anxious to start a 1.marine2.reef system.
I want to sell my cichlids and use my tank for my beginner marine setup.
I need advise on how to do this.
My DIY 220L tank:
915L x 375W x 650H Tall
Built in sump in the tank (Which I want to remove to replace with external sump and overflow)

I would like to take the project management route on this one to ensure I cover everything in sequence.
Remember... I'm new to marine/reef, although I have just about googled/Youtubed?Wiki'd a Ish-load on the topic... I'm considering myself ignorant at this point.

Any advise will be awesome.:79:

welcome and be prepared to learn alot!!!!

i used to have cichlids and they just dont seem to have the personality of marine fish

one thing i can say is with marines you need to have lots and lots of patience!!! other than that i will leave it to the experts to give you advice!!!

welcome!

this hobby is not as scary as one thinks...
there is no real reason to have a sump etc, you can make do with what you have.
the big cost will be lighting on a deep tank, but there are ways around that.

post a pic of the tank and the filtration at the back

Welcome dude.

Keeping marine life is not only unique with respect to the challenges it brings us to overcome, but it's cool! like James Bond......

You are in the right place, the gurus here will guide you, they have heard it all........and seen my ridiculous questions....

Just ask, ask and ask. Then read :) and what are these cichlid things? bathwater fish? :p

Thank you for the replies. See pics of my tank as is...