Newbie from PE

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
Been reading the posts religiously the last few weeks trying to sponge up as much info as possible!
I'm VERY new to marine and would appreciate suggestions/concerns etc about my setup and proposed plans.

Well, i decided to go for a plywood tank and have just finished initial construction. The reasons for plywood are low cost and I am a BIG DIY-er, and love working with wood.
The design is a corner unit measuring 1.7 across (front), 1.2 sides and 80 depth. The front viewing (glass) is 1.44 x 0.7m.
Actually i still need to buy the glass, and maybe that could be my first question! What thickness should i use? After researching I decided on 12mm, but I was hoping that 10 would be ok, as it is half the price of 12.

I'll keep my first post short, so will leave it here for now. I still have many questions eg what skimmer should i get (looking at T2 reef octopus), can i use rock from the beach for a base, etc.

oh, btw, my volume is about 500l. Here is a pic of my work in progress... gotta start sanding now and then 6 coats of epoxy resin.

Chris
26324b498e2a5e687.jpg
26324b498e1a40c79.jpg

Welcome to MASA Chris.

Looks like you know your DIY. Unfortunately I have no experience with plywood tanks...search the threads I have seen some posts about them.

Just a word of caution (I have a similar size..bit bigger...) corner unit, think about your overflow setup long and hard, corner units have their own challenges ito getting flow right

BTW a TS 2 would more than suffice in my opinion

Have you thought of your "eventual" plans for the tank as this is going to impact on a few other things

Welcome to MASA! I'm sure 10mm glass would be fine we used 15mm on 1500L tank so 10mm for 500L tank should be enough but let's just here from the rest before I can be sure.What ar you planning to keep, reef, fish only?

Welcome to the forum, looking forward to watching this tank progress, lots of photo's along the way please. :)

Welcome to MASA!!