Need advice Please

JDV

Reaction score
Hi Guys

Need advice please, As you know by now I am a newbie, I would like to know which will be the best way to go with my sump NP Pellets or DSB, which will be the better option in the long run? I have 1.2x450x450 DT, sump is 900x380x325.

Sump might be too small for a DSB after you allocate space for a skimmer and return chamber. Many people have had good experiences with the pellets so it could be a good option if you do it properly with the use of a decent reactor designed for pellets.

That is what I was scared off that sump might be too small for a DSB and what I read on MASA they don’t seem to be effective. Now I need help with the below 2 questions

1. What reactor and media can I use that will not break the bank.
2. How long can I run the tank without the reactor with only skimmer and live with 10 or 20% WC weekly?

Currently my tank is running with dead rock being seeded with live rock and dosing with stability. I am planning to let the tank run for at least 2 to 3 months before adding livestock.

Hey JDV - have a look at how the guys run algae scrubbers over their DSB which also assists with nutrient export. I have a small dsb but my bioload is going to be small. I have some caulerpa/chaeto aswell which will make a diff - or so I hope.

I will move onto NP reactor if the DSB doesnt work, but decided to try it rather than can the idea.

Good luck - will follow the thread to see pans out...

You could try the liquid carbon dosing method. Various ways on how to do that from the off the shelf prodibio system to the vodka dosing with a bacteria source of your choice. I think @Tony runs his tank purely on carbon dosing.

Yes pellets is also a form of carbon dosing but since you cant quite get the correct setup for the pellets the liquids might be a stop gap.