Lawrence

Reaction score
:slayer: Hi there
new to this site , just want to say hello and tell you a bit about my tank.
Tank is called a BOYU
Its not very big as I am still a beginner and wanted to start off small and the do A larger tank...which I have already got[6i have foot] a bit later in the year.
Anyway my current tank only hold 42l , I started it 2 months ago and have just added fish about two weeks ago. There is 1 x box fish , 1 x clown fish and 2 x damsels. all the fish are looking happy and seem to like there new home. I have a bio filter which has filter sponge , live rock , ceramic filter bags and carbon. I have a protien skimmer and do a 10% water change each week. Please send me any advice , I have a lot to learn...
thanx
Lawrence

hi Lawrence, welcome to MASA.

It is actually easier to keep a larger tank stable, small tanks can go very wrong very quickly whereas a larger tank has sufficient water volume to forgive our fumblings.

I would reccomend you remove the bio filter, it's sponge and the ceramic filter bags slowly reducing the rings over the next few weeks, whilst doing 10% weekly water changes, all these will have an adverse effect on the ability of the liver rock to do it's job properly.
I would also say - don't add any more fish for the time being to allow the live rock to build up sufficient bacteria to cope with the waste produced by the fish.
There is plent to read up on and learn about on this site, so spend some time going through the forums and see what you find (there is so much you will be falling over it.)

Tell us a little more about your tank, a pic would help, the more info we have. the more we can help.

Welcome to MASA Lawrence :)
Im with Wee man on this one.Start working on your large tank,and save up money for equipment, LR etc... for the big system.