DSB Help

Reaction score
Hi All

About 3 months ago I setup a new DSB, I used 25kg's AM Aragonite at the bottom, then 30kg's Coral sand, the 14Kg's Caribsea Aragamax and on top 9Kg's Caribsea Aragalive. Total DSB height is around 20 - 23 cm the Caribsea stuff makes up 7-8cm. After reading about DSB's I feel that I may have taken the cheap route and will not get the full benefit as the crain size on the bottom 2 layers are not perfect.

1. Am i correct in thinking this?

2. If I have made an oops what would be the best way to fix it - I was thinking to get another bag of each of the Caribsea products and just adding it ontop of the current DSB? ?

My DSB is 750X500 if that makes any difference....

Thanks for the help....

Sims,

I'm no expert here, but I feel that at 23cm almost any smallish grain size would do. That is deep and I have heard from some people that the deeper the DSB is, the coarser you can allow the substrate to be. But probably just up to a certain point.

Ok well that makes me feel so much better - I'll post a pic tonight so you can see the difference in grain size.

other thing is I see no life on the dsb at all - is this normal for the first few months?

Other thing is I see no life on the dsb at all - is this normal for the first few months?

Yes. Do you have some hiding spaces for pods? I think that's about the only thing that will appear on it's own. Unless you seed the DSB with what you want in there I don't think anything will happen. Unless ofcourse you have all the life already in your display.

i thought Aragalive was gonna help kick this life thing off or is that just Bacteria? How do I add life to my tank - will it come over time? I have adder different types of rock ect. but I feel most of the life would have died from the transport of it?

I think the life they talk about is only bacteria.