Career Advice Needed

AndreT

Retired Moderator
Sponsor
Reaction score
Dear Abby,

I woke up one night and realised I don't enjoy what I do at all.

Despite my tertiary education, 8 years of experience I now find myself whole heartedly NOT wanting to do what I do. I'm a programmer/Software Architect.

What do I do now. I can't change jobs and still keep my standard of living. I'm trying to get another company up and running which does more of what I love doing, but it's tough.

I hate my job so much that I I spent 90% of my day on MASA...:lol:

Please help,

Sincerely

Unhappy in Roodepoort

Dear Unhappy in Roodepoort ( I would be unhappy to if I could not get NSW where i lived)

The big question is are you unhappy for whom/ how you are doing it. in otherwords could the situation make a difference?

I have been in this situation before and have changed jobs (still with the same company) a few years back and now love what I do.

Any new business is tough, but I think its important to do if you are capable (which you certainly seem) while still earning a salary.

Sorry I could not be of much help but all the best in the coming months with this on your mind and I trust you will make the right choices.

Last edited:
Irony, thats what i can call this. When i logged on this morning, i saw your post count, and thought to myself, "he can't be happy at work, all he does is F*** around on masa all day.."

Hehe, I'm kinda wondering wtf to do for work as well. And I know I don't wanna become a codemonkey so I keep on avoiding those positions etc. The std of life vs starting at the bottom thing is a b*tch :/